SHARE {   facebook   google+   twitter   linkedin   stumbleupon  }

Winner of the MCM Award announced on Thursday http://en.nauticwebnews.com/3699

Winner of the MCM Award announced on Thursday

Inmarsat and Volvo Ocean Race judges are finding it tougher than ever to decide the winner of the MCM Award as the standard of work from the Media Crew Members continues to rise and rise.

The prestigious prize which carries a cash bonus takes into account the all-round work of the MCMs during the course of a leg, covering video, audio, stills pictures and text.

Skipper Franck Cammas looking at MCM footage onboard - Yann Riou/Groupama Sailing Team

“The Inmarsat MCM Award choice every stopover is becoming one of my biggest – but most enjoyable and fascinating – challenges,” said Volvo Ocean Race Director of Communications, Jon Bramley.

“At the start, there were clear MCM stars in the fleet who were producing incredibly compelling material day after day.

“What’s great now is that we are seeing a uniformly fantastic standard from all the boats. The guys are constantly getting guidance from our team and the boats’ PR departments and are lifting their game accordingly.

“That is crucial for the success of the race. Without the MCMs relaying the true drama of the Volvo Ocean Race we simply cannot promote the event to its true potential in the media and through them, our fans.”


(from top left to bottom right)

  • King Neptune’s partner Codfish sacrifices a dollop of Rome Kirby’s hair after crossing the Equator for the first time.
  • Amory Ross. Media Crew Member for PUMA
  • CAMPER with Emirates Team New Zealand Media Crew Member Hamish Hooper from New Zealand wins the Inmarsat Media Crew Member Award at the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-12 Cape Town prize giving.
  • Hamish Hooper from New Zealand: Media Crew Member
  • Media Crew Member Nick Dana onboard Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing
  • Nick Dana from the USA, media crew member for Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing.

All sections of the Volvo Ocean Race communications department vote before Bramley and Inmarsat’s Chris McLaughlin, vice-president external affairs, meet to make the final call on a short list of three and the eventual winner.

It is one of the most eagerly awaited events in the popular prize-giving evenings at each port stopover.

For Leg 3 from Abu Dhabi to Sanya, the three short-listed are – in no particular order – Nick Dana (Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing), Amory Ross (PUMA Ocean Racing powered by BERG) and Hamish Hooper (CAMPER with Emirates Team New Zealand).

The winner will be announced on Thursday.

Articles about the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-12.
Leg 1 | Leg 2 | Leg 3 | Leg 4 | Leg 5 | Leg 6 | Leg 7 | Leg 8 | Leg 9
The Resume of the race 2011-2012

Articles about the Youth Academy.

Articles about Legends Regatta.

Want to be on a Spectator Yacht? Just send us an Email.

Amazing Episodes from the Race 2008-09 / Videos.

Source: http://volvooceanrace.com
Museo Volvo Ocean Race, Alicante: museovolvooceanrace.com

The VENUES of the Volvo Ocean Race 2011-12:

1 Alicante 2 Cape Town 3 Abu Dhabi 4 Sanya 5 Auckland
6 Itajaí 7 Miami 8 Lisbon 9 Lorient 10 Galway


Statistic Details for your Advertising
Posted by on February 12, 2012. Filed under News, Regattas, Volvo Ocean Race. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Tags: , , ,

Short URL: http://en.nauticwebnews.com/3699


  1. Sydney International Boat Show 2014
  2. Cannes Yachting Festival 2014
  3. Baltic Marine Festival 2014
  4. Antibes Yacht Show 2014
  5. Rolex China Sea Race 2014 race start
  6. Algeria Boat Show 2014 starts in May
  7. Rolex China Sea Race 2014 commences next week
  8. Hainan Rendez-Vous will be branded SO! DALIAN
  9. Mega Yacht Nirvana (+Video) at the Dubai Yacht Show
  10. Video Clips from the Dubai Intern. Boat Show 2014
  11. Orca whales chasing a speed boat in the Pacific
  12. Spectacular 22nd Dubai International Boat Show delights crowds
  13. Thousands of visitors on Dubai Intern. Boat Show 2014
  14. Dubai International Boat Show 2014
  15. The Abu Dhabi Stopover – Volvo Ocean Race 2014
  1. Anik: Great site. really i like it. informative also.
  2. ARCA Racing: as well as on several major news and sporting sites. For the first time, players will also be able to...
  3. nauticweb: Here you will find all our RSS streams in the english edition: http://en.nauticwebnews.com/rs s-feeds/...
  4. Dorotha Alimento: I’ll right away take hold of your rss as I can not find your email subscription hyperlink or...
  5. joey racano: Just seeing the whale gave me goosebumps. I also got goosebumps seeing the SEAWORLD guy watching, hoping...